KORS 09

I was lucky enough to be invited to the outdoor retail show by PTC.

As I have said before I am not one to play about with kit in shops etc, I would rather buy something on a trusted recomendation and use it.

I dont look too deep into things unless I really have a big problem with fit etc.

We left early on the Thursday morning and after negotiating the confusing streets of Keswick we arrived fashionably late for our first appointment.

I am not going to go into huge detail about various products as that’s the job of MR PTC.

Yes all this development is great but can you make me one in orange !

Yes all this development is great but can you make me one in orange !

What I will say after a mind stewing day of chatting to UK suppliers, that 2010 looks like it is going to be a good year for gear !

UK suppliers are fighting to get a price fix from European manufacturers to ensure that there be no price hikes mid season.

The pound Euro battle is causing gear prices to rise dramatically, mixed with the increased cost of manufacturing and materials.

Bad news for the “Joe Blogs punter ” at the end of the proverbial pooey stick !

I guess we will just have to be a bit more selective as to what gear we replace or add to our wish list for next year.

A couple of highlights of the day apart from being entrusted as photographer ( I did forget a few times and was reminded by PTC taking the camera from me !) were the following:

5:10

Some nifty shoes from the guys at 5:10 as brought in by Big Stone

Its nice to see something different in shape, colour and design

These below caught my eye

Desert Enforcer

And a derivitive of an old favourite of which I had a pair of the originals.

The new Canyoneer SAR

This is a slightly changed Canyoneer and the great thing is its in orange !

I think these will be going on the wish list with the new dry suit for winter Raft Guide Courses.

On that tangent we were speaking to Si from Lyon Equipment and he showed us a crevasse rescue kit in a nice wee bag which has a white outline so that you know what goes where or in raft guide terms what has been nicked on a rescue course !

P8130272

This in essence is a Z drag system which gives you mechanical advantage to pull your mate vertically out the crevasse without the need for 20 Sherpa’s !

In rafting and paddling we use this horizontally to pull boats off rock or tension lines for rescues.

Lyon also do La Sportiva after much debate about the grip (or lack of it) of the Skylite we got to the Gandalf shoe.

Half climbing shoe half approach shoe this is a lovely concept.

Whats more it has a big brother in the form of a mid !

P8130273

The sample above happened to be a 8 !

Which in the interest of research I tried it on.

It is a stroke of genius and I will be having a pair !

The only thing is I have to wait till spring next year and they will be approx £150.

Some of the new Exped sleep mats are looking good and I think will give the neo air a run for its money.

We were luckily enough to score a pillow each which you will see pictures of soon on the next oot !

Rabs has put some effort into its range for next season seeing a good mix of nice colours (orange) and a wee bit more shape to their jackets.

This put them up there on the possible list for a new jacket.

We had a look at the new Black Diamond Raven ultra which was looking like my choice of axe for this winter till we visited the nice chap at the Allcord/Rosker stand.

The head has been changed on the Camp walking axes to give a very distinct and comfy shape.

Also on show on this stand was Tendon ropes who do an “indoor ” rope for more sustained use eg centre use.

A new one to me and PTC was Fizan poles of which I think you may be seeing a bit more of giving the weight and the cost.

We dragged our selves round Ambleside to look at yet more kit but after being spoiled we were un impressed with stock !

After a quick and healthy chip stop we were on the road home.

Tired we stopped of at Gretna for coffee and cake with a free chuckle chucked in.

The next day I woke to being  a burst bagpipe !

Kit hangover ! I dont know how PTC and the other guys do it all the time.

Worth it though

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “KORS 09

  1. Good lad. I’ve been sitting looking at the file of photies from KORS and I just can’t deal with it yet.
    I really like those LaSportiva mids, born for a trip to Skye I think. And those 5.10 fat-feet mids just have to be got.

    Check the look on my face in the first photie :o)

  2. Right… I have a wee fast-growing fund going for new kit! (with a little help from maw & paw – well it’s only fair, my sis gets a pram, I get a new ice axe!).
    so what do you people recommend? Remember I need something of quality that will last for a while, money doesn’t grow on trees around this way – unfortunately. 🙂

  3. Pingback: PTC* » KORS 2009 Part 1

  4. Nice one, great to see someone giving pete a run for his money with pics of nice new (orange) gear!

    • I would not have been there if it was not for the big man !
      As I have said before, its good to see new gear but I couldnae do what PTC does as it would drive me mental !

  5. Ange
    I am having an Ice Axe dilema after what I saw at KORS
    The new CAMP head is amazing.
    Only problem being its 2010 kit so we might not see it in time for our winter.

  6. Oh no! well i haven’t a clue what i should be looking for-at all.
    my shopping list consists of: tent, sleeping bag, axe, crampons… oh and a luxury would be a new waterproof jacket cos i had mine’s on tonight and ended up wetter on the inside than outside – crap!

  7. Depends what you are going to use them for really and also what you have used in the past !
    I had a Haglofs LIM jacket on the other night in really heavy rain and worked a treat !

  8. Pingback: PTC* » KORS 2009 Part 2

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

