Tarmachan Tramping

I was sitting in the Dunolly office nursing a mild hangover after a sociable night in the pub when PTC Tweeted that he was dressed like a mountain super hero !

I was contemplating Schiehallion to clear the head, but the cloud was lying on top of it !

PTC said he was heading for the Tarmachans for an overnighter, I had no kit with me so I said I would come up with him and run back off the hill in the dark.

We grouped at the new car park as the Lawyers visitor centre was has been obliterated just like the visitors centre.

The cloud base was less than inspiring as we trudged up the hill under gazes of grumpy walkers returning off the hill to their cars.

The cloud teased by breaking on occasions and letting little patches of sunshine and blue skies show.

Light was going fast as we reached just below 900m, the air was cold and we were right on the line of cloud, the ground frozen solid.

Ptc pitched his tent as I melted snow on the Jetboil for a brew.

 

Whilst waiting for a brew I used the last of the light to explore an avalanche that was further down the hill, The Tarmachans in my experience are very avalanche prone for some reason.

Coffee was not the usual sachet affair but a rather fancy bag from Growers Cup, I had tasted this at Escape Route before Christmas and its tasty to say the least !

As I sheltered in the porch of the comp we discussed various things including the lack of want for two people to share the very tent we were sheltered in !

I checked the temp outside, minus four was the reading and it was about half five at night.

I packed my kit and reluctantly stripped off my insulating layers ready for the run down the hill.

I also stuck my microspikes on to give me extra grip on the icy and snow patches we had crossed on the way up.

I set off stopping at the next hill down to see if I could get pictures of PTC’s lit up tent, the cloud had cleared a bit but not enough to give off usable light.

His torch did however look like a mountain light house as I messed about before getting cold and running onto the car park.

I drove back to Aberfeldy trying to figure out if the sky was clearing or not.

PTC was on the sunrise lottery !

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Tarmachan Tramping

  1. Oooohhh I like the look of them coffee pouch doodahs! I shall be investigating further.

    • Aye sandy !
      A few different blends too, perfect for the back of the Landy as you get a couple of big mugs out of them.
      Escape route will post them to you .

  2. Rob Sanderson

    See I knew you would get into Running & at night in winter.

  3. You walk up the hill then ran back down in the dark!? Bloody nutter! Ha Ha

    Would love to have seen you two in that Laser Comp! 🙂

  4. Those shots looking back up the ridge are magic, I look like a lighthouse :o)

  5. Pingback: PTC* » Banana toastie with chocolate buttons

  6. You can see PTC tent light in the distance in your last photos. Mad stuff running in the dark in winter. Nice micro adventure you had there.

  7. feepole

    Love that last shot. Amazing! Friggin scary too!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

